How to Permanently Delete Your Tinder Account

Online dating apps have become the go-to place for people who want to hook up. And whether they’re looking for a fling or a serious relationship, Tinder is one popular destination.

Tinder makes finding a match based on your preferences look easy. All you have to do is swipe right for ‘yes’ and left for ‘no.’

However, you may have decided this is not the right app for you. Maybe you rarely get a Tinder date. Or you’ve already found your boo and don’t need Tinder anymore.

If you’re more privacy-oriented, you might be ready to break up with the app over the security flaws that allowed people to take over accounts and access any photo from the database.

If you believe it is time to delete your Tinder account, we’ve prepared the complete guide on how to do it.

How to delete your Tinder account

Here’s what you need to do to leave Tinder in the past.

To permanently delete your Tinder account from the app:

  1. Open the Tinder app.
  2. Click the profile icon at the top left of your screen.
  3. Tap the “Settings” icon in the middle of the screen.
  4. Select “Delete Account” at the end of the “Settings” menu. Here you can choose whether you want to deactivate your account or permanently delete it. Choose Delete my account.
  5. Give your reason for leaving.
  6. Confirm that you want to delete your account.

You can also delete your Tinder account through the browser website.

  1. Open the Tinder homepage on your browser of choice.
  2. Log in and click on My Profile.
  3. Go to your account settings.
  4. Select “Delete Account.”

Mission accomplished!

Once you’ve deleted the Tinder app, your profile will still be visible online. But the less you use the app, the less you will appear in people’s searches. According to the company, if you have an inactive account for more than 7 days, your profile will be gone forever.

However, they’re not so keen on letting your data go. Based on their privacy policy, Tinder will hold on to your data for another three months.

Tinder’s privacy and security blunders

While it sometimes fails to land you a proper date, Tinder certainly seems to succeed in getting your data. And the app collects a lot more of your information than you might expect.

Information overload

In 2014, it was revealed that Tinder does not just rely on the information you share, but also on data about “your use of the service,” like your activity and location.

This information is used to present you with targeted ads and can also be used in any other way Tinder may choose to, including selling it on to third parties.

Photo exposé

In 2018, security experts revealed Tinder didn’t encrypt its pictures database! All users’ photos were transmitted over HTTP (aka an insecure web protocol when you’re entering sensitive data). This meant anyone using the same network could access these photos.

Learn more about the difference between HTTP and HTTPS.

Security weaknesses

The works of a Tinder algorithm go like this: if two people swipe right on each other, it’s a match. When users swipe left, it means they are not interested. So, chatting with someone you said no to isn’t a possibility.

However, by exploiting the same HTTP vulnerability, cyber attackers could have added viruses or spam to a user’s photostream.

Catfishing

Another common risk with Tinder, as with any other dating app frankly, is catfishing.

Find out how to stay away from online dating scams.

Catfishing happens when users try to fool you into thinking they’re someone they’re not. They do it to steal your personal information or even your finances.

If someone is too good to be true, it probably is. In this case, your potential match made in heaven proves to be a scammer.

Keep your exposure to a minimum

While good things still happen in the digital world, and honest and trustful people find true love, it is always better to be cautious and keep your eyes open for any kind of risk.

Use a reliable VPN to protect your online identity. You get to hide your IP address and encrypt your connection so, you don’t expose your digital whereabouts.

As an extra tip, if you’re an iPhone user, switch to Secret Photo Vault to protect your snapshots.

After all, photos are sensitive personal data that you don’t want to end up in the wrong hands.

 

Did you use or are you still using Tinder? Did you consider deleting your Tinder account for security reasons?

Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a comment

Waste of time and energy got nothing out of it

Reply

Hi there! What exactly do you mean? If you could be more specific, we could help or explain…

Robthebushman0077@gmail.com

Posted on 23/06/2021 at 08:34

Waste of time

Reply

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*