Your IP Your Status

Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification

What is Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC)?

Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification, commonly known as CMMC, is a certification process set up by the United States Department of Defense (DoD) to measure the cybersecurity readiness of defense contractors. CMMC serves as a verification mechanism to ensure that appropriate levels of cybersecurity practices and processes are in place to protect controlled unclassified information (CUI) on defense contractors' networks. The model encompasses various cybersecurity standards and best practices and maps these controls and processes across several maturity levels.

The Genesis of CMMC

The CMMC framework was developed in response to the increasing threats of cyberattacks and data breaches affecting national security. Its origin dates back to the growing concerns over the handling of sensitive government data by defense contractors and the need for a standardized cybersecurity framework. Before CMMC, contractors were self-certifying their compliance with cybersecurity requirements, but the increasing sophistication of cyber threats necessitated a more robust and verifiable approach, leading to the creation of the CMMC.

Practical Application of CMMC

CMMC is primarily applied in the defense industrial base (DIB) sector. Companies that wish to do business with the DoD must achieve a certain level of CMMC certification. This involves undergoing a third-party assessment to demonstrate compliance with the required cybersecurity practices and processes. The level of certification required depends on the sensitivity of the data that the company will handle or access.

Benefits of CMMC

The implementation of CMMC brings several key benefits. It enhances the protection of sensitive government data and reduces the risk of cyberattacks and data breaches. For defense contractors, achieving CMMC certification can provide a competitive advantage in DoD contracts. Moreover, the process of obtaining CMMC certification encourages companies to improve their overall cybersecurity posture, which can have broader benefits for their operations and business resilience.


CMMC consists of five maturity levels, ranging from basic cyber hygiene to advanced. Each level builds upon the previous one's requirements.

Eventually, all DoD contractors will need to obtain CMMC certification, but the rollout is phased, and the required level of certification varies depending on the contract.

CMMC certifications are valid for three years, after which companies will need to undergo another assessment to renew their certification.


Score Big with Online Privacy

Enjoy 2 Years
+ 4 Months Free

undefined 45-Day Money-Back Guarantee




Defend your data like a goalkeeper:
4 months FREE!

undefined 45-Day Money-Back Guarantee